jojogrech's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The totally independent woman and the frog February 16, 2010

Filed under: My life — joannegrech13 @ 7:09 pm

Hi all. My blog title today is not a new film which I went to watch. It’s just that the cartoon ‘The Princess and the Frog’ should have been named like that! Today I had the opportunity to watch it with my two twin cousins, who were over-excited that they were going to watch it. Practically the story is about a waitress who worked hard all her life to achieve her dream of buying a restaurant. She first wishes upon a star (as usual) but her father had told her that she had to work hard to achieve what she wanted. Isn’t THAT a good advice?! To make a long (very long) story short, the waitress turns into a frog when she kisses a frog-prince. She isn’t amused (who would be anyways?) and after him trying to save her life and vice versa, they fall in love. Uuuuu how romantic! Anyways, the moral of the story is that happiness isn’t what you have worked hard for but having love in your life. True. Anyways, the thing which I was disappointed about was that although the girl chose the prince instead of her career, ย the film still focused on the usual ending, it being that the girl got married and they lived happily ever after bla, bla, bla. Not that I don’t agree with that, but children, especially girls, are taught that to be happy one has to get married, have children and the lot. As you know I’m in a relationship so obviously I agree with having a family. On the other hand, there’s nothing wrong in being single. Last time I was with my children and as children are ultra-curious, they started asking me questions like, “Miss, are you married?”. Me, “No”. The children seemed disappointed by that and continued asking questions, “So you don’t have children?”. Miss Joanne: “No, why?”. The children replied with pure sincerity, “Oh! But when I grow up I’ll have a husband and children. It’s ย much better like that.” Obviously I wanted to get a lesson out of that comment. I told them that there’s nothing wrong in being single! They weren’t convinced anyways! The things our children learn! Bah! Girls, there’s nothing wrong with being single or not married…just follow your heart! I did that and it worked (till now!).

In my life I also learnt to risk as much as I can. I didn’t do rock-climbing or bungee-jumping (afraid of heights). All I did was to follow my heart and do what I wanted to do at the moment I wanted. I never regretted it. When I changed courses during my under-grad, I met a lot of people who told me that they wished they had my courage to change course. For me it was nothing but for other people it was too much of a hassle to change course to have a job which they enjoyed more. Hard luck, I say! I just don’t imagine myself spending all my life regretting my choice of career. Sometimes, I just say to myself to let go and not continue my studies and just work like other people do. Then I think, ‘What’s fun in that?’. Nah, it would be a boring life! So, I get myself together and continue planning. If that doesn’t succeed I’ll try something new! Speaking of fun, today was really fun spending my day with Ady and watching the carnival end.

First we walked through Valletta (which I totally love). While walking I heard the usual, “MISS JOANNE!!!!” Yep, my students enthusiastic that they saw their teacher with a MAN! Anyways, then we went to have a (quite expensive) thick flavoured hot chocolate. At least it was good. Then we went to watch (for free) the carnival floats which were really nice. Here are some of them.

Hope you enjoyed my post! See you soon (getting addicted to blogging!)

so enthusiastic! ๐Ÿ™‚

Me while Ady was pushing everyone around him to try and get me with the float ๐Ÿ˜›

 

2 Responses to “The totally independent woman and the frog”

  1. adytrevisan Says:

    go , girl power ๐Ÿ™‚ … some interesting opinions that contrast big time with the insular ideas of a small island like Malta

  2. Yes indeed. We need to change our opinion on alot of things that were taken for granted throughout the years. Like for example, working mothers, house-husbands and yes, single women who are happy just like that. Being committed is a huge decision which not everybody is ready to accept. Better than being in a relationship just for the sake of it.


Leave a Reply

